Creative in the Trenches: Melina Vastola

Melina Vastola

Our creative of the week is sports photographer, Melina Vastola. She’s been on the sidelines capturing beautiful photographs of football stars such as Jameis Winston and Kelvin Benjamin just to name a few. We were able to ask her a few questions related to her career and football, check it out.

Follow here on Twitter: melinasphotos

Website: melinasphotography.com


ITT: How did you get your start as a sports photographer?

MV: I got started in sports photography by interning at a local smaller city paper shooting high school sports. From there, I joined the FSView (FSU school newspaper) and worked my way up to being photo editor — since, I’ve worked for the Tallahassee Democrat (local paper), USA Today, and am now doing work with Panini America (Trading card company). All of this happened over the last 8 years. Gotta work your way up the chain, both gaining experience, and pro equipment.

ITT: What is your favorite memory from your career so far?

MV: Favorite memory has to be seeing my photos full page in Sports Illustrated, and on trading cards with Panini America and Upper Deck.

ITT: Who is your favorite player?

MV: I have too many favorite players to choose one! One I enjoyed photographing was Kelvin Benjamin, others included Jameis Winston, Chris Thompson, and Lonnie Pryor. But again, that’s just a few of my favorites. I have a ton! My favorite teams are FSU, and the Buffalo Bills.

Leave a Reply

